# Public Document Pack MONMOUTHSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL

### Minutes of the meeting of County Council held at the Council Chamber on Tuesday, 17th May, 2022 at 2.00 pm

PRESENT County Councillors: L.Brown, L.Dymock, A. Easson, C.Edwards, R.J.W. Greenland, M.Groucutt, S. Howarth, R.John, D. Jones, P. Jones, M. Lane, P. Murphy, P.Pavia, M. Powell, F. Taylor, T.Thomas, A. Watts, A. Webb, J. Bond, M. Brocklesby, F. Bromfield, E. Bryn, S. Burch, J. Butler, B. Callard, I. Chandler, J. Crook, T. Davies, C. Fookes, S. Garratt, R. Garrick, P. Griffiths, M. Howells, T. Kear, J. Lucas, C. Maby, S. McConnel, J. McKenna, A. Neill, S. Riley, D. Rooke, A. Sandles, M. Stevens, J. Strong, P. Strong and L. Wright

### **OFFICERS IN ATTENDANCE:**

| Matt Phillips   | Chief Officer People and Governance and Monitoring Officer |
|-----------------|--|
| Paul Matthews   | Chief Executive  |
| Peter Davies    | Deputy Chief Executive and Chief Officer, Resources        |
| Jane Rodgers    | Chief Officer for Social Care, Safeguarding and Health     |
| Will McLean     | Chief Officer for Children and Young People                |
| Nicola Perry    | Senior Democracy Officer                                   |
| Frances O'Brien | Chief Officer, Communities and Place                       |
| Adam Fall       | Local Democracy and Digital Apprentice                     |

### APOLOGIES:

**County Councillors** 

#### 1. Declarations of interest

None.

### 2. To elect a Chair of Council for the Civic Year 2022/23

The Vice-Chair of Council, County Councillor Ann Webb opened the meeting and took the opportunity to thank Council for the opportunity of representing the Council and highlighted several functions attended.

The Leader addressed Council and thanked County Councillor Feakins for his year in office as Chair, County Councillor Ann Webb for her year as Vice-Chair and reflected on the work and achievements of the past year.

It was proposed by County Councillor Mary Ann Brocklesby, and seconded by County Councillor Rachel Garrick, that County Councillor Laura Wright be elected as Chair of Monmouthshire County Council for the Civic Year 2022/23. Upon being put to the vote it was agreed to elect County Councillor Wright as Chair.

County Councillor Laura Wright made and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office and thanked Members for their support.

## MONMOUTHSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL

### Minutes of the meeting of County Council held at the Council Chamber on Tuesday, 17th May, 2022 at 2.00 pm

### 3. To appoint a Vice-Chair of Council for the Civic Year 2022/23

The Chair welcomed nominations for Vice-Chair of Council.

It was moved by County Councillor Paul Griffiths and seconded by County Councillor Ben Callard that County Councillor Peter Strong be appointed as Vice Chairman of the County Council for the Civic Year 2022/23.

It was moved by County Councillor Richard John and seconded by County Councillor Maureen Powell that County Councillor Ann Webb be appointed as Vice Chairman of the County Council for the Civic Year 2022/23.

Upon being put to the vote it was resolved that County Councillor Ann Webb be appointed as Vice Chair. County Councillor Ann Webb made and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office and thanked Members for their support.

### 4. <u>The following items will be deferred to the meeting of County Council to be held on</u> <u>19th May 2022:</u>

It was resolved that the remaining items of business be deferred to the meeting of the County Council to be held on 19th May 2022.

### The meeting ended at 2.35 pm